California added to New York's COVID-19 travel advisory; nonessential travel to CT, NJ, MA, PA discouraged

California is the latest state to be added to New York's COVID-19 travel advisory list, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday.
The New York advisory requires those who have traveled to New York from areas with significant COVID-19 spread to quarantine for 14 days.
California is now among 39 states on the advisory list, along with Puerto Rico and Guam.
The quarantine applies to anyone arriving from an area with a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day period or an area with a 10%+ higher positivity rate over a -day average.
Cuomo also says Massachusetts has met those requirements, along with Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, but due to their proximity to New York, he says a quarantine is not practically viable from those states.
However, the release says, "New York State highly discourages, to the extent practical, nonessential travel between Connecticut, New Jersey, Massachusetts and Pennsylvania while they meet the travel advisory criteria."
The full travel advisory list now includes: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Within New York, Tuesday's numbers show a 3.65% positive test rate within "micro-clusters," which is up slightly from Monday. Areas outside the micro-cluster focus are at a rate of 1.53%, also up slightly from Monday.
A total of 15 New York residents died due to COVID-19 in the past day, bringing the state death toll to 25,758.