Las Vegas Aces become first repeat WNBA champs in 21 years, beating Liberty 70-69 in Game 4

News 12’s Phil Taitt brings you an up-close look at how fans were reacting after the heartbreaking loss for the New York Liberty.

Associated Press

Oct 19, 2023, 12:55 AM

Updated 274 days ago


NEW YORK (AP) — The Las Vegas Aces became the first team in 21 years to win back-to-back WNBA championships, getting 24 points and 16 rebounds from A’ja Wilson and a defensive stop in the closing seconds to beat the New York Liberty 70-69 in Game 4 of the Finals on Wednesday night.
The Aces joined the Los Angeles Sparks (2001-02) and the Houston Comets (1997-2000) as the only teams in league history to win consecutive titles.
Las Vegas did it without starters Chelsea Gray and Kiah Stokes, who were both sidelined with foot injuries suffered in Game 3. Gray, the 2022 WNBA Finals MVP, was constantly in the ear of her teammates during timeouts and shouting encouragement from the sideline.
Wilson won MVP honors this year.

More from News 12